American Samoa Coastal Zone Management Program

Program Overview

The American Samoa Coastal Management Program was approved by NOAA in 1980 and is led by the American Samoa Department of Commerce. The coastal program has developed a unique approach that incorporates both western and traditional systems of management. The American Samoa Coastal Management Act provides the primary authority for the program. American Samoa’s coastal zone boundary consists of seven islands, totaling roughly 77 square miles, with a coastline of 126 miles.

Program Website

American Samoa Department of Commerce, Resource Management Division, Coastal Management Program

Learn More