Connecticut Coastal Zone Management Program

Program Overview

The Connecticut Coastal Management Program was approved by NOAA in 1980, and is administered by the Office of Long Island Sound Programs within the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection. The primary authority for the coastal management program is the Connecticut Coastal Management Act of 1980.

Connecticut has a two-tiered coastal zone. The first tier, the “coastal boundary,” generally extends inland 1,000 feet from the shore. The second tier, the “coastal area,” includes all of the state’s 36 coastal municipalities.

Program Website

Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection, Coastal Management Program

Learn More