Ohio Coastal Zone Management Program

Program Overview

The Ohio Coastal Management Program was approved by NOAA in 1997, with the Ohio Department of Natural Resources serving as the lead agency for the networked program. The coastal management program incorporates state laws, regulations, and programs within 41 management policies that are organized around nine issue areas.

Ohio’s coastal zone runs through the nine counties bordering Lake Erie and its tributaries. The boundary width ranges from about one-eighth of a mile to 15 miles depending on features, such as coastal wetlands and bluffs.

Program Website

Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Coastal Management Program

Learn More

Ohio Fact Sheet